Navigating life abroad

20160901_1312361

Not so long ago, I was googling Canada and making a list of things to do. Toronto seemed enticing with its multiculturalism, food, accents, languages and people of different nationalities. Everything held the promise of tolerance and diversity.

And before I knew it, here I was in Toronto. My life packed in three suitcases and my heart pounding. I still remember being awed and a little frightened as the city stretched before me.

I can’t believe that 72 days have passed since I first set foot in this country. All I can say is that it has been a roller coaster of emotions. From dealing with homesickness to the thrill of finally living abroad and realizing my dream. Truth be told: I am both happy and sad. I guess that I am navigating through my life’s major transition. Home is now behind me and the world awaits ahead…

I kept being asked why I took that leap. Would it suffice to say that wanderlust took over me? Once upon a time, a Mauritian was bored in her island…So, she decided to move 15,808 km from home to spice up her life. I guess I needed to shuffle my surrounding. Blame it on my gypsy soul.

Sometimes I feel like I neither belong here, nor there. I carry my country in my heart while I’m adapting to the ways of living in Canada. The fast-lane life, the coffee culture, the new way of greeting and the slang. I have been listening, observing and adapting. I feel like I have lived in two countries and sampled two different ways of life. As if, I am caught between two worlds.

I am unlearning, relearning, improvising, stepping out of my comfort zone and dealing with the unexpected. New places, new habits, new challenges and new people. Starting anew is thrilling, terrifying and oddly addictive.

And I found myself saying that the future looks good. But then comes the nagging question: where do I want to spend my life? And then I go back to Rachel Wolchin’s quote: “If we were meant to stay in one place we would have roots instead of feet”. Only the future will tell…

If you want to share about your experience, feel free to leave a comment below.

2 thoughts on “Navigating life abroad

  1. I have been browsing online more than 3 hours lately,
    yet I never found any attention-grabbing article like yours.
    It is beautiful value enough for me. In my opinion, if all web owners and bloggers made good
    content material as you did, the internet might be a lot more useful than ever
    before.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

